Easter Sunday I was sitting outside and happened to look up because dark clouds had moved in. There in my direct view over the houses was a beautiful rainbow! A rainbow is comprised of 7 colors in this order: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. This also happens to be the same color order as the Chakras.

As a kid, I remember seeing rainbows across our farm fields and Dad telling us there was a ‘pot of gold’ and the land of leprechauns  at the end of rainbow. It seemed magical that this could even be true! To see if something was at the end of the rainbow would be a celebration of fulfillment. Dreamers we were!

Perhaps an adult version of the rainbow ‘story’ is that it symbolizes HOPE, if we follow our hearts, believe in our dreams, keep reaching forward, moving away from the past, and living in the present. It is always inspiring for me when I see a rainbow as it makes me smile and think happy, calming thoughts that all is well with life and good things will come to pass. The unexpected is just ‘over there’, waiting for me to step up, reach out and grab it! “Hope springs eternal” (phrase from Alexander Pope’s poem An Essay on Man).

“It takes sunshine and rain to make a rainbow. There would be no rainbows without sunshine and rain”  (Roy T. Bennett, The Light in the Heart). So like life: there will be glorious sunshine but we should expect some rain, sometimes light or sometimes a raging rain storm. And then once again, the sunshine appears.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s